Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Newbie build issue

Lincoln Nail

This topic is 5555 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Newbie here with a build issue. I am attempting to build my first true related DB, and think I am overanalyzing something easy.

I run a rent-to-own store, where we have customers (sometimes joint apps) fill out a form with their info, and then someone verifies their info. Things that we verify are their address through the landlord, their employment through the employer, and their references. I am wanting to move this verification process to a DB, so that we can move to a paperless storage of the information given, as well as a standardized verification procedure.

The problem that I am having is what exact tables I should create, what keys, and the proper relationship. Just as soon as I think I have it figured out, I overanalyze a future situation and get lost again. And then there is the addresses. Should it be tabled in Customers or Landlords?

Right now, I have laid out on paper: Five tables (Customers, References, Employers, Landlords, Notes).

Customers have many references, and some references may be for multiple customers.

Customers have only one employer (unless it is a joint app, then there may be two employers), but I would like to track all of my customers that work for a certain employer.?.

Customers will have only one address at a time, but I would like to be able to track all of the customers that rent from a specific Landlord.

EDIT;) Since addresses are an attribute of both Customers and Landlords, which table is recommended to put the address fields into?

I would also like to create multiple Notes for each customer, reference, employer, and landlord.

Customers has a Parent Key

References has a Parent Key, and a Customer foreign key

Employers has a Parent Key, and a Customer foreign key

Landlords has a Parent Key, and a Customer foreign key