Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Filemaker Server 11 - Admin Console Won't Connect - Solution

This topic is 4885 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi to all from a newbie here. Not so familiar with FileMaker either, but felt I must post this, in the hope it will save others from the painful experience I had when trying to install FMS 11 on our brand new XServe (Snow Leopard 10.6.5).

The first problem I hit was that the installer wouldn't take me to the Admin Console Start Page. I tried countless re-installs and tried all the suggestions I could find on the web, with no success. One thing I didn't try was a full server re-install of the Mac OS - but with hindsight I'm glad I didn't resort to that drastic step, as it wasn't necessary.

Anyway, to cut this very long story shorter, it turns out I couldn't install FMS properly until I'd first added the user account fmserver (which is created by the FMS installer) to the local admin group. Of course, a first (failed) install had to be done in order for FM to create the account in the first place.

This crucial step (adding fmserver to the admin group) isn't included in the installer instructions, and neither csn I find any mention of it on these forums. But Hey Presto, I finally got to load the Admin Console Start Page in my browser (Safari) for the first time! :)

My delight was very shortlived though... when I then clicked on the link Start Admin Console, I was greeted with the message "Admin Server Connection Error: The admin console cannot establish a connection to the admin server" :(

After much fumbling around for hours, I finally found the cause... by simply unticking my proxy server settings in System Preferences, Network. All of a sudden, I could now get into Admin Console, and all appeared to be fine.