Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Development database?

aweaver

This topic is 4776 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm a newbie here and pretty new to FileMaker. I come from an Oracle Financials background. I will have to be making changes to a few FM databases (FM 11, FM Server) and want to know the best way to approach this. I'm used to working in an environment where there are dev, test(qa), and production instances. Can someone tell me what the usual approach is - I want to make changes in my own "sandbox" database and then copy them to a test database where the users can test and signoff and then migrate the changes to production. Thanks!

In my experience, the "usual approach" with FMP development is to work on the live production system.

The Emperor has no clothes!

Basically you can do whatever you want. If you want a development and production system then set them up. You have, however, just doubled the development time and cost for the client.

FileMaker databases don't have separation of data and interface, so migrating changes to production means importing the production data into the new system and loading the new file onto the server. (This loading of data may be complex if the data structure has changed significantly between version.)

There is a "separation method" which you should look into, which is a development practice that provides some separation of data and interface. It is not a silver bullet for the problem, as it creates significant development overhead. It is most useful when the changes are to the interface not the data structure, which in my experience, is infrequent especially during the early stages of development.

• Newbies

In my experience, the "usual approach" with FMP development is to work on the live production system.

The Emperor has no clothes!