Database to be distributed to iPads

This topic is 4430 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi everyone!

I'm new to FileMaker, and have a philosophical question regarding security.

We plan to implement a single database (on FileMakerServer) of sensitive information (think sales leads). Each lead will be assigned to a sales rep. We want to then distibute the DB in Filemaker Go format to our sales force, all of whom have iPads. We want each sales rep to see only his/her leads.

The question is - should we send the entire DB to every sales rep and use programming/admin techniques to try and restrict access to only their records, or would it be better to send a subset of the data to each rep, the subset being only their leads? Would it be easy to produce a few hundred FileMaker GO files (each identical except for the data content), or easier to implement some sort of filtering security?

Thanks!

Are you planning to host this database on FileMaker Server, and have FM Go clients connect to the server to access the database?

Or will you be distributing the database to each device, so it is local on their system? If so, how do you plan to get new data into their database?

What needs to be done with the data once the sales reps have it/after they are done with it?

• Newbies

Hi Dan,

Thanks for your reply. We will be distributing a DB to each device, so they can work without an internet connection. The comprehensive (all leads) DB will be maintained on FMServer. We're planning to periodically email a DB file to each iPad. The file we mail would replace any existing (older) file on the device.

As regards to what will happen once the DB is on the device, we'll probably have them record sales calls (date of the call and maybe some notes) and then sync that back to the Server DB when they can get an internet connection.