Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Question>>> Unstored Calc... Performance.. and FMSP

This topic is 3457 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Dear Mr Carlton

I am a fan and one of the first people who supported and purchased both the FMGO13 and FM Starting Point Videos.

I am a developer since FileMaker 7, located in Dubai since 1995.

I've watched both Video series. But there are some crucial things relating to performance that are still not clear to me.

FM_Starting_Point: There are many Unstored calculations in the contacts table. Many of them can be changed to Stored calcs by using the Evaluate( your calculation ; z_Load_Globals_Trigger)

z_Load_Globals_Trigger is a field that is set to 1 to update all calculations.

I read a documentation that says we need to minimize all unstored calculations as much as possible. Whereas in your FM_Starting there are so many Unstorred calcs? Doesn't this affect performance ?

If this method is not required or advised can you please explain to me why?

Also you did mention this in your video. Yet you are not using it everywhere ? Is there a reason?

Video: #1012 Portal Summary Sum Totals
Description
Sum Calcs can be slow... for WAN connections.. thats why we don't use them in FMSP

You didn't use this method in 
table INV_Invoices
field Subtotal_Price
code Sum(T12j_invoices_LINE_ITEM||id_invoice|::ExtendedPrice)

Subtotal_Price is an Unstored calc... we can make it a Number Field or a stored calculation.

(there are many other fields that can use this method too....)

Another way
We could also upgrade this by adding to the relation graph
T12j_invoices_LINE_ITEM||id_invoice|
constant1 = constant1

In browse mode update constant1 by setting it to 1. This will force the portal to update the calculation (hence we don't need it to be an Unstored calc)

What are your personal thoughts.. is this wrong what I am saying, are there potential problems that I am not aware of ?