Inserting URL for one record only.

This topic is 3415 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello everyone. I just joined this forum as a complete newbie and have a question regarding inserting a URL into a record.

I'm using Filemaker as a database to keep track of color mixing formulas. So far this has worked just fine, but I'm thinking it would be a cool feature if I could insert a URL for each record that links to a picture of the finished product I'm using the mixed colors on. 

I tried doing this by creating a button with a "Go to URL" command. This works great, but it creates the same link on every record in my database. I want to use a unique URL for each and some won't have a link at all. 

I'm probably missing something obvious (very new to Filemaker) but it seems like there should be a way to insert a link on one record only. (I have over 2,000 records in the database).

Many thanks!

I tried doing this by creating a button with a "Go to URL" command.

IIUC, you hardcoded the URL within the button's script step; in this case, there is only that one URL in that one object, shared by all records in the table.

Instead, create a text field to store a URL with every record; now, rather than specifying a literal URL in the button, reference your URL field - which can be different for every record.

It may be a good idea to attach a script to your button; this allows you to capture an empty URL:

If [ IsEmpty ( YourTable::URL ) ] 
  Exit Script
  # or display an explanatory custom dialog
End If
Open URL [ YourTable::URL ]

• Newbies

IIUC, you hardcoded the URL within the button's script step; in this case, there is only that one URL in that one object, shared by all records in the table.

Instead, create a text field to store a URL with every record; now, rather than specifying a literal URL in the button, reference your URL field - which can be different for every record.