Newbies mrmacky Posted June 25, 2002 Newbies Posted June 25, 2002 I'm working with a database that has pop up lists in it. One of the pop up lists, when not being used (waiting for an entry) shows a title, i.e. Select Sport and then when u click on it all the different sports show up, but 'select sport' does not. How does one title the pop up list so it's not blank without actually putting a text box over it cuz i don't believe that's how it's done in this case. The actual field that is being used is a global field pulling in a value list from a related file. I hope I explained this clearly. Thanx in advance.
StevenB Posted June 25, 2002 Posted June 25, 2002 Have you tried using the Set Field command? You can set the field value to "Select Sport" and when they click on the field the words Select Sport in the field - the list will display below. HTH
Newbies mrmacky Posted June 25, 2002 Author Newbies Posted June 25, 2002 I had thought abt doing that but I believe there may be another way to actually set the bar of the pop up list permanently to what I want it to say. I looked thru the database where it is working that way already and I can't find anywhere where that field is being set by a set field command. I do appreciate your quick reply and input tho.
The Bridge Posted June 25, 2002 Posted June 25, 2002 One option: set the field options to auto-enter "---Select a Sport---"
Newbies mrmacky Posted June 25, 2002 Author Newbies Posted June 25, 2002 [color:"purple"] Thanx for your help. It appears what was already in the database wasn't as cool as i had originally thought. At some point the global field was set to "select sport" but after a selection was made in the database with that value list it was changed for good. I will use a 'set field' at the beginning of the script now to make it say what i want so it is easier for the user to understand what to do. Thanx again everyone who helped!!
Vaughan Posted June 25, 2002 Posted June 25, 2002 Just be aware that some users will leave some records with the default value "selectsport" so make sure scripts and reports can handle the value.
ldebondt Posted June 28, 2002 Posted June 28, 2002 If you use auto-enter "select sport" - you select "sport" and field now shows "baseball", "football", "whatever". Suppose you want to clear that field - should "select sport" reappear? Maybe I didn't do correctly because now all that shows is a blank field.
The Bridge Posted June 28, 2002 Posted June 28, 2002 Perhaps you could fudge this a bit by defining another field: Select_Sport_Message (unstored, text) = Case (IsEmpty (Sport), "---Select a Sport---", "") Then place Select_Sport_Message immediately below the Sport field on the layout. Make sure that Sport has a transparent background and that entry into Select_Sport_Message cannot be entered by clicking or tabbing. The drawback to this option is that ---Select a Sport--- disappears when the drop-down list appears, but otherwise it works.
Recommended Posts
This topic is 8185 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now