Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Why to choose File Maker Pro

nipa

This topic is 2402 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi there,

I am a mobile/windows developer (hobby) and a full time doctor :)

Nevertheless, I love in the spare time to develop applications, systems to make my work easier and more automatized.

It happened that during my work in another hospital, in another country, I came across "File Maker Pro". At the first thought, I considered it as a "hospital built program to speed up report typing" but googling it I discovered a new world, so here it is.

I have a couple of doubts/questions, and I hope to find not-party answers :D

- If I buy a File Maker Pro license (very expensive though), I can build my own application and database to work in my laptop. What if I want to share my application with other laptops in my office so that also my colleagues will take profit of my creation?

- If I want to share and sell my application with other offices, how does it work the license point?

And now some more specific topics:

- Why should I choose File Maker Pro to realize a database interface when I can build (as I was used to do) my interface with Visual Studio, save the files in a common folder with a reference into the database? I read something, and FileMaker is a great choice for big projects, but what about small projects to distribute? The only reason I find is the unique database file containing inside the whole files so for backuping it comes very easy and logic...

I hope don't mind my question, but I would like to understand whether File Maker could be actually useful for my future medical application developing or just a wasting time.

Thank you!

- What if I want to share my application with other laptops in my office

FileMaker Server is ideal, but you can also share with up to 5 users using built in peer-to-peer sharing.