Do Filemaker 17 databases need to be signed?

This topic is 2158 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I just got the below screenshot from a customer who is doing a bit of testing for me on Filemaker 17. I did a bit of testing with FM 17 myself but I didn't see such a warning. Do Filemaker 17 databases now count as apps and need to be signed?

Mit freundlichen Grüßen/Regards

Beatrix Willius

http://www.mothsoftware.com

Mail Archiver X: The email archiving solution for professionals

Bildschirmfoto 2018-05-24 um 12.22.04.png

This is a Preference problem. Open your System »» Security & Privacy »» General and you see the Allow apps downloaded from: 

You might have to unlock it by clicking on the padlock and entering the computer password 

HTH

Lee

• Newbies

Hi Lee Smith,

why should this be a preferences problem? This warning is for apps and since Sierra also for zip and dmg files. I have never seen this for a simple file. 

I'm a developer so I know how to sign my apps properly. The Filemaker file belongs to my app and is distributed to customers.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen/Regards

Beatrix Willius

http://www.mothsoftware.com

Mail Archiver X: The email archiving solution for professionals

Did you open the System Preference? Look at the popup, the icon even shows that it is the Security & Privacy and is telling you that it Doesn't Recognize the Developer. This part of the System protection.

• Newbies

Hi Lee Smith,

the screenshot was from my customer. The preferences is set to "App Store and identified developers" which looks okay. I am an identified developer.

Why does the message show up for a file? It should show up only for apps, dmgs and zips.

I tried to sign the Filemaker file but this is not possible (rejected source=obsolete resource envelope ).

Regards

Beatrix Willius

• Newbies