Hiding Objects

This topic is 1670 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I realise this topic has been touched on before, however... I need to hide an object on my layout for a membership database. To do it, I need to meet the true and/or false values from two fields, 'Category' and 'Status', both of which are pop up menus. As I'm very new to the whole scripting and calculations thing in FM, I have literally spent hours today Googling solutions. These two that I've put together work perfectly when they're run separately:

FilterValues ( MEMBER::Category ; "All¶Donor¶Friend¶Navara¶Contact¶Potential Navara Funder¶Mailing List" ) ≠ "" 
  FilterValues ( MEMBER::Status ; "Inactive" ) ≠ ""

But try and put them together to run one after the other and I run into the issue of (to quote FileMaker Community Member 'egoist'), "With an OR, only the first predicate is evaluated if it returns True, since then the entire expression already is True, and there is no need to test further. Same with AND and False." So yep I have the same problem.

I've seen examples using Case functions and Get, but I can't seem to get them to work. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

1 hour ago, comment said:

Could you explain, in simple language, when exactly the object should be hidden (or shown)? It's hard to guess what you're trying to accomplish by looking at code that doesn't.

The database has a field that shows when members joined - so that's a date field. It also has a field that is a pop up where you can select what category they fit into. Be it a Member, Donor, Friend, Navara, Contact, Potential Navara Funder, on our Mailing List or you can select All. There is also another pop up field that you can select whether they're an Active or Inactive Member.