Find and Merge scripts' issue

This topic is 1355 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone,

As I am still relatively new to FileMaker, especially, scripts, I would like to ask for your help.

I am currently in the process of preparing a historical database of officials delegated to maintain order in private estates. The existence of both the officials and the estates needs to be confirmed by historical sources. So the 3 tables are: Sources, Jito (the officials) and Jito-shiki (the jurisdictions in estates). One source can mention multiple officials and estates; an official may appear in many sources and hold jurisdiction in numerous estates; lastly, a given estate may appear in multiple sources and may have been under the jurisdiction of numerous officials during that time period. While I initially tried a many-to-many-to-many approach, it turned out too clunky and I settled for using a single table (labelled 'Joint' for the time being) that would record all instances a source mentioned a jito in relation to a jito-shiki. You can find the relationship graph below.

In order to avoid creating numerous half-empty records, I limited the possibility of adding records to the Source layout only (since every official and jurisdiction need to be validated by sources) and designed an "Add record" button with the following script (mainly for reference):

Set Variable [ $$Source_id; Value:Sources::Source_id ]
Go to Layout [ “Joint” (Joint) ]
New Record/Request
Set Field [ Joint::Source_id; $$Source_id ]
Go to Layout [ “Jito_Individual” (Jito) ]
New Record/Request
Set Variable [ $$Jito_id; Value:Jito::Jito_id ]
Set Field [ Joint::Jito_id; $$Jito_id ]
Go to Layout [ “Jito_shiki_Individual” (Jito_shiki) ]
New Record/Request
Set Variable [ $$Jito_shiki_id; Value:Jito_shiki::Jito_shiki_id ]
Set Field [ Joint::Jito_shiki_id; $$Jito_shiki_id ]
Go to Layout [ original layout ]