Server Maintenance This Week. ×

How to select a "source" from a popup list of sources in the "source" field of a "quotes" table?

adobephile

This topic is 965 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm totally new to Filemaker. Starting out with just-purchased 19 on Mac. I know very little nomenclature. Perhaps there's a name for what I'm talking about, so please name it if there is.

I've got a couple K of quotes from various sources, which I collected in another DBMS. I have a table of quote data, and a related table of source data with primary/foreign "source#" key fields.

For entering new quotes, I want a layout which has a "source#" field which has a button or area to click to open a popup list of sources from the sources table. Selecting the source from the list wil enter the source# in the field when the new record is created. It would also be nice to have an "inert" (non-data and volatile) text field into which I can enter "starts with" or "contains" text to limit the length of the source list.

How do I do that?

Let's start with the basic setup. Define a value list using values from the source# field in the Sources table, also displaying values from [some field in the Source table that you want to see when selecting a source]. You will probably want to check the 'Show values only from second field' option, too.
https://help.claris.com/en/pro-help/content/value-lists.html

On the layout of the Quotes table, format the source# field (from the Quotes table) as drop-down list or a pop-up menu) using the value list above. 
https://help.claris.com/en/pro-help/content/setting-field-control.html

If you chose to use a drop-down list, you will also want to place the 2nd field from the Sources table on the layout, so that you can see which source was selected. Make it non-enterable to prevent accidental modification.