A babe in the woods

This topic is 7892 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello, I am brand new to FM, I started learning this morning. I love the program because I have come a long way toward building exactly the database that I want, but I have a couple of questions.

1. When each record is entered into the db in a table view, one of two radio options is selected. I want to add the records with one of the options checked to another layout, excluding the records with the other option checked. I have no idea how to accomplish this.

2. Each name in the db has several records associated with it. I want to display a list which includes all of the associated records at the bottom of the page so I can quickly move from one record to the individual's other records.

I have seen this implemented in address book template. It finds all people with the same last name and list them at the bottom of the page. I tried to copy this approach by creating A key field, a Global field and a multikey field, but it does not seem to work.

I am not sure if anyone can explain these issues to a complete newbie, but i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks so much.

Coolidge

1) Remember that layouts are just views of the records in your file. Layouts don't really "contain" records of a certain type. Any layout displays the records in the current "Found Set" either one at a time (form view) or as a list (List View). To show only records of a certain type, you must either make the records of that type the current found set OR build self-relationship (one from your file to the same file) and use a portal to display only the related records.