Server Maintenance This Week. ×

daily auto number

This topic is 7902 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Who can help me with this: I want to create a field that will auto enter the current date and a two digit serial number;

like this: 200802-01, next record 200802-02, etc

but every day the serialnumber must begin with 01 again;

like this: 210802-01, next record 210802-02, etc

I hope I'm clear enough with my question!

Hi,

I am relatively new to Filemaker but I think I can help you. But there are probably better (read faster ways to implement this)

I would say you make a field

- current date

- teller

- calculation field : current date & "-" & teller

Everytime you create a new record , just make a script that checks the the date of the last record. If it is the same then today add teller with one of not set teller to 01

Hope this works,

Thierry

Hello freecolours,

Your request is a little tricky, so there will be a number of steps required to get you to where you want. What you are wanting to do can be achieved if you:

1. Create a calculating field called "DayID" (result type Text), with the formula:

Left("00", 2 - Length(Day(Status(CurrentDate)))) & Day(Status(CurrentDate)) 

& Left("00", 2 - Length(Month(Status(CurrentDate)))) & Month(Status(CurrentDate))

& Right(Year(Status(CurrentDate)), 2)

2. Create a number field called "Serial".

3. Create a self-join relationship called 'DaySerial' based on DayID (ie a relationship that links the file to itself, using the DayID field on both sides of the relationship definition).

4. Create a calculating field called 'NextDaySerial' (result type Number) with the formula:

Max(DaySerial::Serial) + 1