sending emails

This topic is 8543 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm a filemaker novice and am having difficulty setting up a script to send emails from a filemaker pro 5 database. any help would be greatly appreciated. I use both a PC and Mac, so the script should be usable on both platforms. generally, I use netscape communicator for email, but have installed eudora because filemaker's help tells me that's what i need, but I still can't seem to get it to work. must I have my internet connection and eudora up and running before running the script? can a script connect to the internet, send an email, and then disconnect?

• 4 weeks later...

Check out a back issue of Macuser (26May Vol 16 No 11). Page 71 shows how to send an email through Outlook 5.

This does work - I've tested myself.

quote:

Originally posted by fmallas:

I'm a filemaker novice and am having difficulty setting up a script to send emails from a filemaker pro 5 database. any help would be greatly appreciated. I use both a PC and Mac, so the script should be usable on both platforms. generally, I use netscape communicator for email, but have installed eudora because filemaker's help tells me that's what i need, but I still can't seem to get it to work. must I have my internet connection and eudora up and running before running the script? can a script connect to the internet, send an email, and then disconnect?

• 2 weeks later...
  • Newbies

I'm using FM Pro 4 & 5 and just used the Send Mail function in a script to extract data from my database and send through Outlook and Outlook Express.

It's pretty easy to do, you have the option of inserting the contents of a field or fixed text into the Send To, CC, Subject, and Message areas of the message.