How to create a historical db?

worx3d

This topic is 7402 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I'm a little shy about asking, I'm new to this so please be patient with me. Okay, I made a small database to manage our little business (movie rentals). I have two files, one with our movie inventory and one with our client (members) list. I would like to know how to create a historical of the movies our clients have rented. Right now, when a client rents a movie I made a simple script that fills the records of date of rent and 'rent due', it also shows me who's renting in the movie inventory (I made a relationship to bring the info of the client from the client file to the movie file). But I have no idea where and how to store what movies have every client rented. Can anyone help me? I've only been able to enter, in the client database, what was the last movie he or she rented, but this field gets overwritten every time the same client rents a new movie. I want, either a new db file that creates a new record every time a client rents a movie with client number and number of the movie rented (I have no idea if this is possible or how to do it), or a way to store all the movie codes (every movie has a unique numeric code) for the movies a specific client has rented in 1 field or wherever possible.

As you can see I'm totally lost, I have been using FM for 1 month or so, and my friends, who are Access experts, have no clue as to how to do things in it.

thanks, I'll appreciate your help.

Please excuse my bad english, it isn't my 1st language.

Wrx crazy.gif

Hi:

Don't worry, your english is excellent. If you hadn't said it was not your 1st language, I would have never known.

Anyways, I searched on fmfiles.com and found a video rental database: http://www.fmfiles.com/enduserbus18.html

It's not great, but it looks like it will work. The files are .fp3, so they will have to be converted.