Newbies Rick Frank Posted March 13, 2004 Newbies Posted March 13, 2004 I have an Events Table (fundraising Events). I have another table that has Categories - each event can have its own Donor Categories, and the user can add categories as they wish for the event via a portal. So, they have entered "Donors", "Silent Auction", "Program", etc. to record the various categories for that Event. The portal on the Event Form selects records in the EvtCat table where Event::RecordID = EvtCat::parentRecordID. Now, of course they want sub categories added - and so I created a SubCat Table so that for example the Donor Category could have "Gold", "Silver", "Bronze" etc for the level that the donor contributed. So on the same Events Form I would like to put another portal for the Sub Categories, and when the user clicks the category the second portal (EvtCat::ID =SubCat::ParentRecordID) That portal gets populated. Think "Quickbooks", because that is how they have it in Quickbooks and they want the donor database to match. How would I do this? I can't seem to figure out how to get the second portal to display based on the Get(CurrentPortalRow), since the first portal is a found set and the sequential portal row doesn't tell me anything about the data in the row (other than it's GUI placement in the portal).... TIA, Rick Frank Version: v7.x Platform: Mac OS X Panther
Newbies Rick Frank Posted March 14, 2004 Author Newbies Posted March 14, 2004 What, did I stump the band here? Can filemaker not do this? Version: v7.x Platform: Mac OS X Panther
BobWeaver Posted March 14, 2004 Posted March 14, 2004 Everyone is over in the Filemaker 7 forum making goolgly eyes over the new baby. So, there's no one here to answer questions. You can put a button on the main portal row that runs a script that sets a global field to the EvtCat record ID like this: Set Field [gSubItemKey, EvtCat::ID] Then use this global field as the parent key field to the subitems relationship, and use that relationship for your subitems portal.
Newbies Rick Frank Posted March 15, 2004 Author Newbies Posted March 15, 2004 Thanks - actually, I found out that if I format the edit field in the portal as a button, and them do the script, which includes as the last line a GoTo Field[] on that field, I can do without the seperate button - the user clicks the edit field, it performs the script, populates the second portal, and puts the edit cursor in the right place - PERFECT! Thanks... Rick
Recommended Posts
This topic is 7559 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now