Formula for Edit access to records??

cmack

This topic is 7324 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I hope this is the correct place for this question.

I have been using FMP for some time now but I am a super newbie at formula/calculations and such.

I finally convinced my school to do course selections for next year using FMP instead by hand using paper & pencil. And in doing so have ran into things I don't know quite how to accomplish. So any help will be greatly appreciated.

Currently I have students typing in their ID number which will then bring up their record and the course selection layout. However I don't want them to be able to go back in once they have made their selections and edit it.

I saw under the passwords you can limit the edit ability using a formula but I have no idea how to go about this. I have already limited the access to the fields and layouts using the password/access screens. But this will not stop students from getting back in and changing things. Perhaps I am approaching this in the wrong place.

I have 3 databases set up Course Selection, Demographics, Test Results.

I have them related through student_id.

Any ideas, help and suggestions would be terrific. Let me know if more information is needed.

Version: v6.x

Platform: Mac OS 9

Cmack:

The question is, do you want them to be able to view everything again? Or, where do you want them to end up if they've already entered their selections, and they enter their id number again?