Variable field size?

This topic is 7308 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

hi,

does anyone know if it's possible to design a layout or a field with variable size? The vertical scrollbar is ok for viewing stuff on screen, but i have to print that too... the problem is, most of the time the text occupies less then a line but once in a while it's also several lines big - and has no limit, actually, it depends on the client! i could just make bigger fields, but then there will be anoying voids between each items - that's just not rigth! :-)

has anyone some nifty idea how to tackle this?

thanks!

cereal

ps.: please be gentle - i'm a newbie to fm pro! ;-)

FileMaker Version: 6

Platform: Mac OS X Panther

• Newbies

hi, thanks for the answer!

i already have a dedicated print-layout, but it doesn't work either...

my setup is as follows: there are two databases, "data" and "notes". each entry in "notes" gets an unique id. in "notes", i have defined a relationship between the two databases, and turned the option "allow creation of related records" on. this way, the portal in the "notes" database always has a ghost entry ready. the actual notes are written in this portal and are stored in the "data" database.

i did it this way, bacause in a class, for instance, i might have to take several notes. in such an arrangement they are neatly organized.

the problem is, some of this notes are really short, some really long. if i print the portal, the fields all have the same size. if i want to be able to read everything i wrote down, the fields have to be big -> lots of wasted space...

one idea i had was to print the records in the "data" database. but the same field size rules applies there. any ideas?

thanks a lot, cereal.

It sounds like you are trying to print your portal?