Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Backup doesn't result in any backup file

tmmurphy

This topic is 7186 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm a Win2000 Admin that's new at the FileMaker game. At our college we've used FMPro for some time on a Mac, but I'm the first to implement it on PC.

The installation looked fine, and we copied a single file database over from our production system. Before we go live, I went to set up and test the built-in FM backup system, after which I was then going to backup the resulting file with our central backup system (Veritas BackupExec backing up over the network to tape).

When I setup the backup in FM using the FM admin tool, it all looks fine. When I use "run now" to test it (or wait and look the next day at a scheduled backup) the "last run" line in the admin screen shows the time it ran (not an error, as it did when I didn't point it at the right folder containing our test DB-which makes me think it *is* seeing a valid FM database). The problem is: There isn't any backup file in the directory I pointed FMbackup to. Or anywhere else, that I can tell.

-the events log shows that a backup ran.

-I don't see this issue anywhere else in the forum, but with this being such a generic setup, I have a hard time believing I'm the first to run into it!?

So...any help appreciated.

-This is on Windows 2000 standard server, Service Pack 4 and running FMPro Server 5.5

FileMaker Version: Server 5

Platform: Windows 2000

The file has to be open in FMS, and the FMS service running I think.

I just had an issue with Mac Os X where backups failed because the backup folder did not have write privileges. This was FMS 7 but it may pay to check.