Finding Range of Records

This topic is 8306 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have a database of 25,000 songs that I have on CD. I don't know how to search for a range of artists say between the Beatles & the Blues Brothers. Or Titles say between ABC & Call Me. Can you help me. I'm pretty new at this.

This will get a little complex. FM has no notion of "range" for text values. You would need to create one, say by assigning a number to each title or artist's name based upon some calculation. A very simple case is to take the first letter of the title and assign a number from 1-26 (what to do with the titles starting with numbers!). The search entry text would also be converted to a number. Searching from ABC to Call Me would become from 1 to 3. This is too simple to be useful, but a number could be based upon the first two, three or four letters. You would probably have to assign numbers for each letter, for a blank, and for numbers. For instance:

Case(

Left(Title,1) = "0", 0,

Left(Title,1) = "1", 1,

Left(Title,1) = "2", 2,

Left(Title,1) = "3", 3,

Left(Title,1) = "4", 4,

Left(Title,1) = "5", 5,

Left(Title,1) = "6", 6,

Left(Title,1) = "7", 7,

Left(Title,1) = "8", 8,

Left(Title,1) = "9", 9,

Left(Title,1) = "A", 10,

Left(Title,1) = "B", 11,

Left(Title,1) = "C", 12,

Using this scheme, you could do three letters by padding out the single digit numbers to 01,02 etc. for each letter, concatenating them to form a text string (012635) and converting this to a number. This would turn the alphabetical order into a number which preserved the same order (call it a code of index). Your start and end search phrases would also be converted to two numbers. The search presented to FM would then just be for a number range 126...348.

Hope this makes sense, it is almost easer to do than describe.

-bd

the filemaker user's guide says it all in section 3-4.