Restrict value list according to field contents

MikeKD

This topic is 7250 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi, first I'm a serious newbie - please treat me like an idiot!

A doing a db to write school reports with.

I have a table of report comments (fields include gender and rating) and a table of students (fields also include gender and rating).

I can enter into each kids report by selecting comments from value lists using fields from comments table, but there are loads to choose from!

Can I filter just the relevant ones (e.g. only male comments if gender field is male)?

How?

Many thanks in advance!!

Presumably each report corresponds to a student who has a gender... but it's not that the *report* literally has its own gender, right? Have you already established a relation between the students table and the reports table? I'm assuming that much has gone well...

First, notice you *could* simply work from one field for the student's name (if you're sure these are unique and won't change) or for the student ID (a safer way to individuate student records). Then, you could have the student's gender show up directly on the report layout as a field *from* the students table (ask if you're not sure how to get a field from a related table to dislay on the report layout)...

OR you can have a calculation field in the report layout display whatever the value is for this student's gender (define a calc field in the reports table and just specify the gender field from the related students table as the content of the calculation... OR you can have a field that looks up the student's gender and then hard-enters it into your report's gender field.