how to group records and find a sum for each group

thulli

This topic is 7111 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I' ve got an Order that has many lines of product ordered.

I would like to apply a rebate based on this condition :

find sets of records (of the Line table) that have the same value for 2 fields (group, template). I imagine doing that with a GROUP BY clause in SQL.

and among each of these sets, calculate the sum of a field (quantity ordered) and copy it to another field ("fake" quantity) into each of the lines belonging to this set.

And then, depending on the fake quantity, I can apply the rebate but it's another story wink.gif

I'm new to FM and its scripts so I don't know how to do it but I already wrote this algorithm in PHP.

Thanks for your help

One way to do it is to use a couple of global fields, gGroup and gTemplate,

and a relationship with multiple criteria, ( order ID = order ID, gGroup = group, gTemplate = template ),

so your script would be:

Set field ( gGroup, "valueA" )

Set field ( gTemplate, "valueB" )

Set field ( fake quantity, related::quantity ordered )

Hope that makes sense... not sure I correctly interpreted the question.

There's a misunderstanding. Let me show you an example ???

definition of a Line :

totalQty Number

fakeQty Number

group Number

template Text

before running this script, totalQty, group and template are filled :

12 |  | 1 | A

5  |  | 2 | A

10 |  | 2 | B

6  |  | 1 | A

9  |  | 2 | B

first step : get the lines above grouped by group and template :

12 |  | 1 | A

6  |  | 1 | A

5  |  | 2 | A

10 |  | 2 | B

9  |  | 2 | B

second step : add the totalQty values for each group and put it into the fakeQty field :

12 | 18 | 1 | A

6  | 18 | 1 | A

5  | 5 | 2 | A

10 | 19 | 2 | B

9  | 19 | 2 | B

Is this clear now? I think the first step can be done with summary but I have no idea how to manipulate the results after.