Server Maintenance This Week. ×

If this AND that....

This topic is 7028 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm just starting out with calculations and have made some really simple ones that work (!) but I think what I want to do now is beyond what my mind wants to get around at this point.

I have a table with records that are created through a portal in another table (basically a line items arrangement). I need to do a calculation to add all the quantities of items (fabrics) that meet two conditions from TWO fields in the LI table. So, there are:

ShippedTo (a location)

MetersShipped (a number)

I want a calculation that says IF ShippedTo = (a particular location) AND if the FabricID for the record is the same (there can be multiple shipments to the same location so multiple records in the LI table), then I get a sum of the MetersShipped to that location. I want to display this total within the LI table (in Form View) and also use it for another calculation in another related table. This calculation would say that IF the total of meters USED (also a calculated result) in the related table exceeds the total shipped to a given location then some sort of warning will ensue (haven't decided what yet, but having the text color of the meters USED change color would be cool - no idea how to do this). A simple text field that would return some sort of text warning would be OK.

Any help would be appreciated.

BR,

Deborah

I believe that what you are trying to do can be accomplished by creating a calculation field which combines the 2 fields together.

If you want to be able to only total the items together that belong to a particular shipment, you would also need to add your record ID to this calculation.

Example Data:

ShippedTo = "107" (the id number of the location shipped to)

FabricID = "304" (the id number of the fabric shipped)

InvoiceID = "0000000001"