Newbies friendlygiraffe Posted February 17, 2005 Newbies Posted February 17, 2005 Hello, This may not be the correct forum, I am new to fmp. I'm exporting data as Comma Separated Text - this is how it exports: "Darren", "Mcdonnald" "Ben", "Smith" "Gavin", "Richardson" "George", "Brown" But instead, I want all the collumns on one line: FirstName = "Darren", "Ben", "Gavin", "George" LastName = "Mcdonnald", "Smith", "Richardson", "Brown" Is this possible? Thanks
-Queue- Posted February 17, 2005 Posted February 17, 2005 You'll need two new fields to concatenate the data. I would suggest using global fields and looping through the found set, appending each piece of a data to the fields. Something like Set Field [globalFirstName, ""] Set Field [globalLastName, ""] Go to Record/Request/Page [First] Loop Set Field [globalFirstName, globalFirstName & """" & FirstName & """, "] Set Field [globalLastName, globalLastName & """" & LastName & """, "] Go to Record/Request/Page [Exit after last, Next] End Loop Set Field [globalFirstName, Left( globalFirstName, Length(globalFirstName) - 2 )] Set Field [globalLastName, Left( globalLastName, Length(globalLastName) - 2 )] Then export the globals.
Vaughan Posted February 17, 2005 Posted February 17, 2005 Don't forget that text fields have a 640 KB character limit in FMP 6 and earlier. In FMP 7 the limit has extended to 2 GB. This could probably be done easily with XML export. Unfortunately I know not how to do it myself but others may be able to help.
Vaughan Posted February 18, 2005 Posted February 18, 2005 Queue, I couldn't remember which it was, 64 or 640. I figured that it couldn't possibly be as small as 64K! lol 640K is the old DOS memory limit.
-Queue- Posted February 18, 2005 Posted February 18, 2005 Scary but true! 64,000 character limit. 640,000 would be great for 5.5 in my solutions, but alas, 'tis not the case.
Oldfogey Posted February 18, 2005 Posted February 18, 2005 Hey, Giraffe. Is this by any chance a one-off? If so, export as comma delimited Fname, LName. Import to Excel or other spreadsheet and transpose rows and columns. Export from Excel as comma-delimited. Depending on how big your database is, I think you could have problems with the size of your two resulting records. Many text editors truncate at ?? and I think this is a system limitation not the editors' authors. I think ?? might be the magic 64k but not sure.
Newbies friendlygiraffe Posted February 21, 2005 Author Newbies Posted February 21, 2005 Thanks OldFogey.. that worked a treat thanks Wolfwood, but that's a bit complicated for me
Newbies friendlygiraffe Posted February 21, 2005 Author Newbies Posted February 21, 2005 by the way, is there a way of change the delimiter to something other than a comma in excel?
carlyle Posted March 5, 2005 Posted March 5, 2005 Wow, this is almost the answer to the question I was about to post...but not quite. I need to do something like what -Queue- was suggesting (but I think that the character limit will make this infeasible for us), but it is not a one time thing, so I'd like to make it as quick an user-interaction free as possible. Does anyone see another way to do this? I have been searching this site for a while to see if there's anything about this. A different post mentioned using an ODBC link. I am embarrassed to admit that I have no idea what this is. I'm using FileMaker version 4, and I can't find anything in the help about this...is it something only available in newer versions?
Recommended Posts
This topic is 7204 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now