relational db's via tcp/ip sharing

This topic is 8324 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hi folks,

i'm a newbie, so please forgive me if this has been covered.

i'm trying to build a relational db over tcp sharing. i have several regional centers which i would like to pull specific info from into my local master db.

i've got it to work (in a simple manner so far) BUT for some reason the db's can't be open in two locations at the same time. this is a problem cuz the regional centers will need these db's open at all times. i keep getting an error message regarding file locking.

the db's are in multi-user mode, all the plug-in's are active, and i am stumped. can i not see the trees for the forest?

your humble grommet,

icefield

hi garry,

here's the situation. i have IP sharing set up on both the host and client computer. the db on the client is a relational db to the 3 db's on the host. all of the db's are set to multi user. when i open the client db, the relationship works and the windows menu lists the host db's in parenthiesis. the problem is that when i try to open the db's on the host computer, i get the message about the files being locked. i need to have these db's open on the host computer.

this is in a OS9/OSX environment......

regards,

ezra

Here is what I am assuming that you are doing, based on your posts:

You setup FILE sharing on the computers (i.e. they can see and open each others files). Then you setup the Filemaker databases on the "host" as multiuser. The "client" then opens those files, and when you try to open them on the "host" computer you get the error.