Tracking Time / Multiple Users

This topic is 6679 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Filemaker newbie here, transitioning from MS Access. Please forgive any stupid questions or faux pas.

I am building a database to track every aspect of a design project. I have five tables working together:

- customer info

- project specs

- billing info (estimates & actuals for all aspects of projects)

- shipping info/tracking

- project history/notes

What I'm trying to do now, in simplest terms, is create a way for designers to open the project, click a "Start" button that will begin tracking their time, then click a "Stop" button. I want that billable time to be stored in the billing info table.

I've got a good idea how to go about all that. What I don't know is how I can allow two designers to be working on the same project at the same time (or overlapping times) and have the time for both users tracked and stored.

I hope that's somewhat clear. If anyone can help, I'd be grateful! Thanks.

Filemaker newbie here, transitioning from MS Access. Please forgive any stupid questions or faux pas.

I am building a database to track every aspect of a design project. I have five tables working together:

- customer info

- project specs

- billing info (estimates & actuals for all aspects of projects)

- shipping info/tracking

- project history/notes

What I'm trying to do now, in simplest terms, is create a way for designers to open the project, click a "Start" button that will begin tracking their time, then click a "Stop" button. I want that billable time to be stored in the billing info table.

I've got a good idea how to go about all that. What I don't know is how I can allow two designers to be working on the same project at the same time (or overlapping times) and have the time for both users tracked and stored.

I hope that's somewhat clear. If anyone can help, I'd be grateful! Thanks.

Chimi,