Help with an odd database design problem

max_s6K

This topic is 6685 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I've just recently learned to use FileMaker Pro to solve database problems. I have made one simple database that involved a simple script and I have some working knowledge about defining fields, value lists, and relationships for portals, but not much past the very basics. I have some programming experience.

Basically, the database I'd like to design would be used to keep track of some biological samples that are stored in freezer boxes. These boxes are in the form of a grid, and thus have rows and columns which can be used to identify the position of a single sample. I'd like each sample to have its own database entry.

My question is, how do I go about creating a report that allows me to display all the samples in one box? Is there any good way to arrange a grid, so that the samples appear as they would in the box, i.e. if a samples is in column A, row 1, then it shows up in the top left corner of the grid?

So far, my only idea has been to create a series of column portals that would sort the samples that are in that column by row, but this creates the problem that empty rows would screw up the grid. Also, I was thinking I could nest them in another box portal, so I could select which box to display, but can you nest portals like that?

My last question is, how do you create a portal which doesn't have a relationship to a variable field? I.e. in my column portal idea above, each column portal would just display all entries with the same column number (show all samples in box 3, column A, for example, and I have 9 of these because each box has 9 columns). So I don't want to have a field where the user enters a column number to display, I just want each column portal to always show the same column and all of them to show columns in whichever box is chosen.