Relationships in rental DB

Chrisbee

This topic is 6581 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I'm a newbie working on an equipment rental project, and I'm having some trouble with my relationships (aren't we all?). I've seen a few similar posts, using three tables, but the solution I'm working with has four tables, as follows:

Customer (primary key = CustomerID)

Invoice (primary key = InvoiceID)

LineItems (primary key = LineItemID)

Equipment (primary key = EquipmentID)

The attached image file shows the current setup of my tables.

I'm confused about how to add Equipment data to the invoices, and I basically have two problems (that I know of, anyway)...

First, I'd like users to enter an equipment name in a portal on the Invoice layout and then have a popup within that LineItem that shows them a list of available SerialNumbers from which to chose. With the LineItems table linked to the Equipment table via the EquipmentID, I'm not sure how to get the LineItems layout to see the available SerialNumbers without an EquipmentID being assigned. I can get the mechanics of the portal and popup working by using a LineItemName field to set the name of the equipment and then run a script that finds all the available SerialNumbers in the Equipment table whose EquipmentName matches the LineItemName. The only problem is that the LineItems table can't see the results of the search in the Equipment table because no EquipmentID is assigned until after the user selects one.