Server Maintenance This Week. ×

educational Background

This topic is 6593 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm curious as to the educational/experience background of those of you who make a living using Filemaker

Are you self-employed or ?

Do you have an education in :) that got you the current position or are you self-taught?

Etc . . . .

I have no computer training. My degree is just a general business admin. I started playing with FileMaker, then read every book and forum I could find.

I've recently become self-employed as a FileMaker developer.

There are a lot of good companies out there offering great FileMaker training, but I haven't seen much that tells you how to create good interfaces, or design good commercial solutions.

Jeff

The two questions most people starting out ask are (1) how do you find clients; and (2) how much do you charge.

I've been doing FMP work professionally for about 3 years now as an independent consultant and I can tell you with some authority that the answer to both are: "Well, that's the trick, isn't it" (said with a wink and a sly grin).

It's a bit like wanting to start a soft drink company and asking Coke for their recipe.

For a consultant, marketing and pricing are the *key* elements to your business. Both involve decisions about strategy and business. Both usually involve years of work to get right! And for many, their marketing and pricing are considered key business information and kept confidential.

But you probably want real answers.

Marketing: word of mouth.

Pricing: what the client can afford.