Filemaker slow to open

This topic is 6584 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have been using FM Pro 4 for several years for managing direct mail lists for local charities.

Suddenly last summer the program began taking up to 3 minutes to open. At first I thought maybe it was time to upgrade to a newer version and I purchased FM Pro 6. But it was also taking 3 or more minutes to open.

I take very good care of my computer system, regularly run anti-virus, spyware, and other maintenance software. Also keep system defragged and backed up. My system hard drive has 75% free space and plenty of memory.

Windows Registry is up to date, defraged and organized.

Filemaker is the only program that has this problem. All other functions of the program are working just fine but it would be nice to get it to open normally like it used to.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am out of ideas.

Believe it or not, running virus software over open FMP files can cause corruption. Set up your virus software explicitly NOT to scan the FMP files.

Check the size of your file... are they near their file size limit? Depending on the vertsion the limit is either 32MB (yes, just 32MB) or 2GB. I know that fp5 files are 2GB, not sure what fp3 files are.

Also check the windows temp folder, if it is full of files then delete them.

Thanks for your suggestions. I will look more closely at my virus software but I am pretty sure that I have tried turning off all of the spyware and virus software before attempting to open Filemaker with no improvement.

None of my data files are that large. And my temp files are usually cleaned with regular maintenance.

It is not the data files causing the problem. I used to open the program by clicking on the particular file.

When this problem started, I began just opening Filemaker first without selecting a file. That is when I realized the problem is with Filemaker itself. Both version 4 and 6 are doing the same thing.