Access Restriction Filemakersever

This topic is 6559 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm using 5.5 and trying to lock downlayouts,scripts and value lists from users as well as computer technicians. This works well by simply unchecking access to each of these in the passwords menu. My solution however, needs to be placed on a server for multi-use. I have set the parameters for multi-user under sharing. Computer administrators however have requested more access privledges to place this on individual fileservers. Is there a way to provide enough access for a technician to place the solution on a fileserver for multi-use but lock out all scripts,layouts etc. without providing the master password. I have tried for some time now unsuccessfully.

Pete

Similar issue.

I am not a dbase developer, but new job means I now have to administer a FileMaker datbase drawn up by my predecessor.

Dept uses Filemaker Pro 6 on desktops and Fiemaker Server 5.5 on a G3 acting as a server.

Questions:-

Can I somehow get an alias of database on the server to sit in the dock on each Mac to simplify navigation to and opening of the database?

Database currently seems vulnerable to user error. Can I protect it by limiting access to it/preferably without invoking password access... I would like it to open in such a state without needing passwords - so the default mode allows modification of data, but no access to layouts etc, while I could open as Administrator for Full Access. Currently ALL users have access privileges to modify the entire database, as soon as I click even one of the Access checkboxes, they are locked out.

When I set an Admin password, currently I can modify everything - I tried to set "no password' as the default for users, but this refuses ANY access to the file.

I would hope that ideally endusers could double click icon in dock to open Filemaker add be able to book in a new job, without being able to modify scripting or layouts.