finding values from a valuelist and displaying only those records

This topic is 6548 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Im working on a contact management system, where once a person is entered, one of the options is to select one of four values from a value list. (First, second, third, and fourth). The field name is simply "quarter".

The problem Im having is how to search for these records. For example Jane Doe is going to ref in the first period. Im want to send out a reminder letter to Jane to show we have her down for that time. The letter isnt the problem, its getting only her letter to print out. Currently if there are 5 different referee's in the database 5 letters will print out for each one of them. Im just trying to single this down to one person. Any help would be appreciated. Im a total newbie at this, so please be gentle. :P What kind of script should I be trying to run?

In FileMaker 6 and previous versions, you can restore whether you are printing the current or records being browsed option in the Print dialog using the Print Setup script step. Start by manually printing a letter and then create a script with the Print Setup [Restore] step in it. This will restore the last Print Setup and Print settings you printed with and allow you to just print the current record or letter.

What version are you using?

I know that in Filemaker Pro 8...

In the Script Step for Print (Specify...), you can choose whether to print "Record being browsed" or "Current Record" of which you want the second one.

I'm not sure about earlier versions.

If you are viewing the record for that individual, you can run a script like this:

Show all records

Omit record

Show omitted records only

Print

I'm not sure if that's the cleanest way to do it, but it works!

M

• Newbies

Im using Fm6.

I think the problem that im having is within the script itself. Heres an example of what im trying to accomplish.