Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Developing a FMP database for work - new user(s) - Can multiple records be opened and worked on simultaneously?

This topic is 6526 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I work in allied health and sometime ago, half-convinced my boss that his excel spreadsheet to collect data was getting out of hand and clunky and Filemaker would be the solution for him. I am only a beginner FM end-user but have been impressed by the capabililities of FM (due to an ex-husband). So he told me to do something abt it, I met up with a local developer who did only an on-job with my requirements, and 2.5K later, we have a product that is incomplete and buggy. My boss needs more convincing that it is going to be worthwhile monetary investment and I need to keep my job. One big point that I overlooked to ask the developer was "Is it possible to open, access and work on multiple records in a FM database simultaneously?" - very impt cos in our clinic, we often have several patient records open at the same time. I am not sure if this is the right forum to post the question, but judging by the depth of discussion here, if theres anyone who can answer my question (and save my job) he or she would be found here. Thanks, greatly appreciated. Elin

Hi Elin,

I am not sure quite what you mean by

Is it possible to open, access and work on multiple records in a FM database simultaneously?"