Drop-Down List Question

Kadin2048

This topic is 6504 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

My apologies in advance if this is not the correct forum to post this question in. I'm fairly new to FMP, although I have quite a bit of experience with databases generally.

The issue I'm having is in trying to create a drop-down list that contains values from one set of fields, while actually storing something related to those fields.

Here's the situation: I'm making a database to keep track of appointments for a medical professional. I have one table ("Client_info") that has reference data on the patients, including First_name, Last_name, etc. It also has an automatically generated, unique number called Client_ID, which is the primary key for all tables. A second table ("Treatment") is supposed to store information on particular appointments/treatments. It has a Client_ID field (related 1:1 to Client_Info:Client_ID), Date, Type, etc.

What I want to have is on the view for entering Treatments is a drop-down list where the user can select a patient's name (First and Last name) from a drop-down list that's populated by the data in the Client_info table. But I don't want the name actually stored on the Treatment table, instead I just want to store the Client_ID number that's associated with that first and last name.

So basically, I want to have a menu that shows actual people's names, but when you choose a name, causes the Client_ID for that person to be saved. I don't want to actually show, or force the user to enter, the numeric client ID.