Exporting report RESULTS to TXT or Excel

This topic is 6535 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Sorry this is such an idiot question, but I'm a beginner and cannot find in the manuals how I export the RESULTS of a layout that has exactly the information I need. I can see it on screen and print it out, but I don't know how to get it into a format I can read in Excel.

I can export the entire database, but I want to export ONLY the results shown in my format that I can see on-screen.

I'm using FMP 6.0 under OSX 10.4.7 on a Mac G4.

Thanks!

Dave

When you do an export in FileMaker, you are exporting the found set. If the found set is all of the records, that is what is exported. If the Found set is One record, than that is what is exported, two records will be the two records.

What does that mean?

It means you have to isolate the the record or records to be exported.

If it is just the current record, you can do that by finding all records, Omit Current Record, and then Find Ommitted.

Another way would be to do a find or search for what ever is unique about the current record to be exported. I.e. the name, company, phone number, address, ext.. than export the found set.

HTH

Lee

• Newbies

Thanks, Lee.

I'm apologize for not being more specific in my question.

My report format includes summed information but NOT all the individual lines (records) that comprise those sums. It is the summed information that I need to export.

Given your comment, how do I make these report summed results into a found set? I do not need or want the individual records, I only want the summed lines/values that I put into my report format. The on-screen, printable report is exactly as I want it, but I need to turn it into tab-delimited text or Excel format.

Thanks in advance. Sorry if my questions and explanations are primitive; I'm just learning this stuff.

Dave