Server Maintenance This Week. ×

what type of fields to use?? (search related, also)

This topic is 6363 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

hi all,

<

i'm new here, so let me know if this should be posted elsewhere on the forum. apologies in advance for the length, and for my probably basic questions. :P-)

i'm developing a database for my work (a university) to track awards and honors received by professors. i'm running into a conceptual problem (due to my inexperience with filemaker) and i'm hoping someone can give me some ideas. i'm a filemaker newbie, but i'm willing to do what it takes to get this right.

first, a little about the database: it will be used to track awards, publications, fellowships, etc for approximately 250 professors. i will be the primary user, but i want to make it user-friendly enough that my boss can run reports without me present, and i want this database to last several years (so it must be flexible with updates).

i'm attaching a screenshot of how it looks now so you can get a general idea of what we're trying to do.

i've prepared basic filemaker databases before, but this one has me stumped with the way the publications and honors are displayed and stored and accessed.

regarding the awards, at first i thought i would do a check box list, with a list of the awards possible. then i could just check off the award if a professor received it. as you can guess, this quickly got out of hand since there are so many possible awards.