Keeping Data Static in a Portal

NormShea

This topic is 8382 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have two main questions. First, I have a Pond Info Master File that has portals to a Water Quality file, a Fish Info file, a Fecal Coliform file and 3 others. Due to space constraints, I only have one or two rows per portal. When I do a Find in the fields of a portal, say in the Fish Info portal for Category "Fish Kill" and Common Name "Grass Carp", I get results of every entry for that given pond, not just ones relating to Fish Kill. From the manual, I think I have gleened that there is no way around this but I thought I'd just make sure. Is there any way to conduct a find that only gets results for Fish Kill instead of Sampling, Stocking, etc also.

Secondly and most importantly, I'm wondering if there is a way to keep data in one portal from moving while you scroll through another portal. Say I scroll down to a particular entry in the Fish Info portal for a Fish Kill of Grass Carp on 1/27/95 and its the sixth record. Then I want to scroll through the water qualtiy data for that same time period. When I click in the Water Quality Portal to scroll through it, the Fish Info portal goes back to the first record which is not the one I want. Is there any way to keep the Fish Info portal static while I scroll through the water quality?

quote:

Originally posted by NormShea: