Need help defining a field showing missing numbers in a series

This topic is 6343 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've been using FMPro for a while with no formal training, so I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to a lot of the topics discussed here, so please bear with me.

I have two related databases. One is a job database that contains all the processing details of each of the production runs we have. Each record in this database is called a Shop Order, and each has a SO# which is a serialized number auto-entered on creation. The other is an invoicing database that creates invoices for these Shop Orders.

Is there a way I can have a field in the invoicing database which will show me which shop order numbers are not in the invoicing database?

I look forward to hearing from you all.

Matt

Hi sojahseh

I think the easiest way to achive this is to have a relationship from your Shop Order table to you invoicing table by SO#.

Create a new calculation in Shop Orders that has the value of the SO# if the relationship is not active.

UnusedSO [text]

If ( IsValid ( InvoicingByShopOrder::UniqueID ) ; "" ; SO# )

Then from the Invoicing table create a constant relationship and create calculation in Invoicing that uses the List Function to get all the SO#

Missing Shop Orders [text]

List ( ShopOrdersByConstant::UnusedSO )

There is more than likely an easire way to achieve this but I hope this helps.

Regards

Orlando

Orlando,

Thanks for the help. As I read it, this set-up will return unused SO#'s and display them in the field in the Invoicing file. Is this correct?

I set up the calcs and fields as outlined but got no results.

I should clarify that there are no gaps in the Shop Order numbers in the in the Jobs database, only in the Invoicing database. So as it stands, there are Shop Order Numbers that have no invoices. There are also Shop orders that span two or three invoices.