Find related records

This topic is 6320 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Good evening,

I would be very grateful, if someone could help me.

I have two related tables, Shops and Products. Shops contains informations about the shops (address, contacts, etc.) and Products contains the name of the products, and their prices. Both table has an ID field - ShopId and ProductID-, and Products has a ShopId field, which is the foreign key. I would use a Report layout showing the prices of the MacBook and MacBook Pro in each shop, but the second product with the same ShopId is not in the list. Is it possible to display them in the same row of the Report?

I am a PHP/MySQL developer, and I am completely lost. I've tried to create a new related table to Shops, and then make a script like:

If[(Shops::ShopID = Products::ShopId) and (Products::ItemName = "MacBook")]

Set Field [LapTopPrices::MacBookPrice; Products::ItemPrice]

End If

If[(Shops::ShopID = Products::ShopId) and (Products::ItemName = "MacBook Pro")]

Set Field [LapTopPrices::MacBookProPrice; Products::ItemPrice]

End If

It does not work, of course (missing a "WHERE" option). I know, there must be a solution, but I can not find it...

Hi rainwalker, welcome to FM Forums! :smile2:

What is LaptopPrices and how is IT related?

Basically, since one Shop can have many Products, you can use a field called ProductID. Create a value list of Products - all products based upon field values and select the ProductID. Also display the Product Name as second field and sort by it as well.

But until I understand what table occurrence LaptopPrices represents, I can't help further.