Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Auto entry for each checkbox selected?

This topic is 6210 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to filemaker, but am trying to automate some data entry into a table based on checkboxes selected for a record in another table.

I'm working on a database of regulations that apply to our business, and in my main table I have some general regulation theme information then checkboxes to select all the regulations that theme comes up in. I then have a second table where I'm listing the specific regulation section references (so one record on table 1 results in multiple records on table 2, depending on the number of boxes checked).

I have it now so that it has a dialog pop up and I enter the regulation and the section reference and it puts that in the second table copying over the categories and themes from table 1, but it seems I should be able to automate this better.

Is there a way to do a "for each box checked loop type function"? Also, I want it to pull over the value selected in the checkbox but haven't figured out how to get it.

This isn't a scripting issue. You need to revamp the structure of your set up. Most of the time, when you need to copy over material from one table to another, your db isn't set up correctly.

Table 1 is "Themes". Table 2 is "Regulations". You need to relate the two. You could do this in a couple ways, the best is to create Table 3 "ThemeRegulationsJoin". Each record in Themes and each record in Regulations needs a unique identifying number (auto-enter serial). The 'join' table has at least two fields, one to hold the Theme ID and one to hold the Regulations ID.

With that set up you can manipulate the data in a bunch of ways.

• Newbies

Hey David,

I'm new to this so may not be understanding your response fully, but I believe I have something similar to what you recommend.