File Maker 4 - Filemaker 8 Conversions

This topic is 6159 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi there

I am extremely new to file maker.

I recently bought 3 programs for my company.

All three were created in file maker 4 and only work on win 95/98/2000

After seeing file maker 8 and working with the trial i have decided to buy this beast of a program.

Id there anyway to convert/ import /export the program i bought into file maker 8 and make it work on the newer version so i can tweak it to do what i want?

Or will i need to rebuild it from the ground up.

I apologize if i posted in the wrong place...i am new i could not find a south African group..

Thanks

Sorry Shaughn, it was probably a bone-head move to buy an FM4 solution at this point in time.

Migration from earlier versions to FM8 can be easy or complex, depending on the complexity of the solution and the coding methods used in the solution. There's a significant number of things to check during the conversion process, and a lot of testing and possible rewriting involved. And that's just to get the same functionality that existed before.

There will be a lot of things that you would want to do differently in FM8 to make things more efficient, easier, or more secure. This all takes time and effort.

For the complete guide to migration, check out the Foundations and Migration Methodologies tech brief on filemaker.com .

BTW: please pay attention to the forum sections before posting. Maybe a moderator can move this to the Upgrading & Migration forum.

Hi Shaughn,

The first thing I would do, is to Contact the Author of the files, to see if they have upgraded, and if there is an upgrade path.

As far as having some one upgrade, migrate them, you should Read your license agreement and see if there are any restrictions about this. In addtion, the files are probably locked, and would require the Author's code in order to migrate.

That was the bad news.