Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help needed!!

This topic is 6176 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all !!

I'm new to filemaker, my quoestion follows, I developed simple database with picture container,is possible to put more images than one in a container? (I mean in one record?

Hi notlob, and welcome to the forum.

One image per container field.

You can put more than one copy of the field on the same layout, if you are trying to display the same image in different sizes.

HTH

Lee

Make a separate TO, and then a separate record for each image, and then create a relationship based on what makes them related (i.e. keywords, creator, date, etc.), and then you can have them display in a portal.

Take a look at the file that came with your FileMaker Application

FileMaker Pro 8.5 Advanced:English Extras:Templates:Home - Collections:Photo Catalog.fp7

HTH

Lee

• 3 weeks later...
  • Newbies

Hi Notlob,

I had the exact same problem and came up with a solution that looks impressive and I really enjoy.

I use Adobe Photoshop "Contact Sheet" function to create a jpg with all the images on one page arranged neatly into columns and rows (i.e. 6 or 8 images looks best, but I've put as many as 24 images onto a page). I then import this jpg, into a container field in my record.

Right now, I'm programming for a tape and still photo database. I need to show all the still photo images that exist on a particular CD.

If there are 12 images on the CD, I create 2 Contact Sheets, each containing 6 images. I put Contact Sheet #1 (which is a jpg) into Container Field #1 and I put Contact Sheet #2 into Container Field #2.

I love this solution. It's so powerful and easy. Photoshop grabs each of the photos in a folder and puts them into its Contact Sheet format automatically, so I don't have to arrange them into a document by hand.

Here are the steps in Photoshop in case you'd like to try this solution.

Photoshop:

Go to FILE menu