Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Repeating Fields

SimonB

This topic is 8646 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to Filemaker. I have the job of changing an existing file that has a repeating field in it (6 repeating unique payments). Which I have to show calculations for commissions with things like (Should Be Sold Price : / Total Lot Price * $ Value Shipped) for several sales people in a repeating fashion. I currently only seem to get 00.00 on entering new payments! I tried get repeatition but this only seems to work for one. How do you set up repeating calculations....perplexed!

My first advise is that if your job is to change the file, one of the things you might consider changing is to replace the repeating fields with relationships.

My second advice is to give a better idea of exactly what you are trying to do. You mention that you have a repeating field with six repetitions. If your target field (the calculation field) is also repeating, then you should be able to get six results in the target based on information in the original repeating field.

Chuck

• Newbies

I have been asked to leave the original alone.

I thought this should work also...

payments field (upto 6 possible entries) is first calculated for a dollars available field (upto 6 possible amounts)which is then used to calculate commissions, which are split up for 3 salespersons with unique commissions. It looks like a spread sheet and in fact is intended too. It is essentially a balance sheet for commissions.

However when I enter new payments in the repeat fields which should in turn give me results in the repeat calculation fields. I get 00.00 across the board...I have noticed that if I remove all calculations and replace with something like 1*1*2 that I do get results...so what am I doing wrong?