Opening database from server

This topic is 5836 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Ok, I'm new to FM, so I'm having a little trouble understanding. I've got FM 9, and I've created an Inventory database. I'd like to store the database on a server, then have myself, along with 2 other people be able to edit it. Is it possible to save it on the server, then open it from a server? I see a similar option, although I believe it is to open a database from FM Server, the application. I currently have a linux server. Is there any way I could do what I'm looking for? I'm sorry for such a rookie question, but I'm really liking FM, but I'd hate to make changes on the database, then send the file to a few other people so they have the most updated version. Please help!

Forget sharing the files on a network volume: it only ends in tears.

Set up a box dedicated to running FM Server.

• Newbies

The only thing about that is that it's just a few people using the database, so the FM Server software is a bit expensive. I may consider it if I can get a decent Mac Server. If I were to go that route, would I be better off installing it on OS X Server, or would regular OS X work fine?

"The only thing about that is that it's just a few people using the database, so the FM Server software is a bit expensive."

It does seem so, doesn't it. Until the cost to completely rebuild the databases is considered, plus the down-time and loss of productivity for the company. Compare this with the cost of buying a box and a license of FMS amortised over, say, 3 years.

Once FMS is set up on a decent box, it is very, very stable.

Also if you consider its cost compared with other commercial relational databases such as SQL Server or Oracle, then its a bargin.

Technically its Microsoft SQL Server, and the alternatives postgre and MySQL aren't that bad... especially when you're comparing them to FM.