Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Double click to enlarge "edit box"?

Theo52

This topic is 5808 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi Guys

I'm fairly new to file maker and would like to make entering data into a description field easier.

The area for entering the data is quite small, however, as the data is entered it enlarges the data field.

When entering large amount of data I would like the box to open up - eg - when I enter information into an "other" area - a window opens and the data can be entered.

In other programs I have used - when the edit box is double clicked - a window opens up which can be sized up as needed. In this way it is clearer to see the information entered.

Question - Is there a way to set this up in Filemaker9 pro :

Thanks for your assistance.

Cheers Theo

When you continue to type in an edit box, the field should, by default, automatically expand to accommodate whatever you are typing. However, when you leave the edit box, the field will DISPLAY (it is still there) only that which it has room to display.

When you click in the field again, the field opens up to display everything typed.

Getting output to work is somewhat different. You allocate the MAXimum space you need for the field in a printed report, and use the SLIDING PRINT functions to reduce the field to the minimum size needed, on a field-by-field basis. This only shows in PREVIEW and PRINT, not in screen layouts. That way, short text does not have tons of white space.

Alternative input method: you can create a pop-up window for long data entry, using the same field as the smaller one on your layout. This would provide space to type, without overlaying the other fields as you type. You might also consider using field level validation to restrict the number of characters to the maximum that you would allow in a printed report, so that you field sizing in the sliding fields would accommodate the maximum text entered.