Searching One Database from Another and Displaying Basic Results

This topic is 5438 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hey folks. Bear with me here, I'm very new to filemaker and really enjoying learning about it and experimenting. [CLIFFS NOTES at the bottom.]

I work for a small entertainment company that rents a lot of DVDs and also maintains an internal DVD library for our executives to borrow from.

We have a DVD Library database that lists all of the DVDs we have, and I'm now in the process of writing a database to log and track all of our rentals from outside stores (Let's call it Video Rentals database). What I'd like to do is have a way from within my new rental database to search the dvd library for similar titles. Basically, we want to make sure that people don't rent videos we already own.

My first attempt went like this:

I set up a look-up field at the bottom of the rental database that looked up the rental title in the dvd database through a relationship and then displayed whether that title was found. But the problem with this is that it only finds exact matches. So if someone typed "Blues Brothers" in the Video Rental database it wouldn't match "The Blues Brothers" in the DVD Library.

I'd like something more flexible, or maybe just a button that the user could press that searches the titles in the other database and then displays the results. My gut says this would involve a script using find mode or something like that, but I honestly just don't know. Another thought I had was that there must be a way to make a portal that displayed results. Again, I'm a novice so I'm not even certain where to start.

CLIFFS NOTES:

Two databases, DVD Library and Video Rentals

DVD Library has a field DVD Title

Video Rentals has a field Rental Title