Problem when creating records in a portal

This topic is 5460 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I'm pretty new at filemaker and could use some help.

I'm keeping track of "submissions" in my main table. In each of those "submissions" there are "fundings" that I manage in a portal on the main "submissions" page. Each of these "fundings" also has forein keys from "Authorities" and "Area". So:

Subs -> Fundings ??? One to many

Auth -> Fundings ??? One to many

Area -> Fundings : One to many

Everything works fine up to this point, the trouble comes when I try to add in a new element to the mix, "positions". Each "funding" can have 1 or 0 "positions", which I"ve done as:

Fundings -> Positions : one-to-one

(the fact that I have a one-to-one might be the problem)

So I've got a portal for "positions" on the "submissions" layout (along with the "fundings" portal). I create records in it by selecting the primary keys from "fundings" that are related to the current "submission". The right values show up in my drop down list, but when I select them for some reason a new "fundings" is created, not the one selected. I have no idea why this is happenning, especially since "creation of records from relationship" is not enabled from positions to fundings (only the other way).

Maybe the way I"ve set up positions is not correct, but I can't think of another way to do it. Maybe you guys have a better way?

Thanks for the help.

Fundings -> Positions ??? one-to-one

So I've got a portal for "positions" on the "submissions" layout

That's the problem. Positions aren't related to Submissions.

The interface should be based on the Fundings layout, not Submissions.

Ok, that makes sense. But aren't they related to through:

Positions -> Fundings -> Submissions

Or does that not work with portals?