Relationship of fields between 2 files

This topic is 5460 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all, self learned beginner here. I created a quotation tool where I will actually quote scopes of work, amount of hours, materials required, etc for customers. I have the data entry 95% complete.

The problem is with the Bill of Mateiral (and others I will create later). I have a seperate file called Product Catalog where I will import thousands of records eventually.

What I need to do is when I input a part number in the "Part Number" field in Quotations to look in the Product Catalog file, find that part number and auto fill in the Manufacturer and description.

I've read and read and did alot of different things but I think this should be something simple I am missing... like a box I didn't check somewhere.

Help please, attached are my 2 files.

FMP_DB.zip

Well first of all, you don't need two separate files. Just create a new table in the first file. However you are on the right track with your relation.

What you need here is a portal instead of all the lists, and actually another table that shows all the parts you are using for that one Quotation. I will put this together for you and send you the new file, with a better explanation of how it is working. It would be rather lengthy to explain it all here without seeing the file work.

• Newbies

Thanks for the help.

The reason why I have 2 files is the products file will eventually hold upwards of 10,000 line items which may or may not make a difference.

the last time I used Filemaker was 5.5 :

The number of records shouldn't be an issue. I do antique radios as a hobby, and I have a file that has data for both of my tube testers, as well as data for different types of tubes (each of those 3 plus many others are all on their own tables.) I'm up to about 8,000+ total records with no problems.