Choosing text value from list to put calculation in another field

This topic is 5463 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am working on a fairly complicated database that uses many parameters to set a fee structure. Most of it is straight forward and I have completed all but two input screens out of 50 or so. However, I am new to scripting and I need some help. Here is what I would like to do:

I have a value list with 8 different text parameters. I would like the user to be able to pick one of the 8 and have that choice trigger a calculation (a fee related to the choice) that is put into another field which is then used in another calculation. So, right now I have two fields, one requiring a choice from the value list and one to which I need to point to a calculation that will provide the dollar amount for whichever type of choice is made.

The script will need to run until it recognizes the choice, either 1 thru 8 or "None" (which will result in a "0.00" being placed into the field). Once the script is satisfied, then the script needs to take me or the client to the next field requiring a different input.

Any ideas?

I believe this could be done quite simply by creating a table for the text values and their associated amounts. Once you select a text value, you can immediately "see" the associated amount through a relationship matching your selection to the 'text' field in the new table.

No script is required for this, and the amounts can be changed in time by simple user action.

• Newbies